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Big Figure Sinestro 
Last Modified: 11/5/04 

Updates in red 
 
Point Value 
Sinestro has three different point values and corresponding starting positions depending on its strength. 
Before the game begins, decide on a point value for Sinestro and rotate its combat dial the indicated 
number of clicks from the starting position. 
 
Type  Point Value  Clicks per Dial 
Veteran 300 0 
Experienced 200 3 
Rookie 100 6 
 
General Rules 
The big figure Sinestro (and other HeroClix figures that are mounted on three-inch bases) is called a big 
figure. The following rules apply to the big figure Sinestro: 
 

1. Is not affected by Force Blast, Incapacitate, Mind Control, Plasticity, Poison, Psychic Blast, Shape 
Change, Steal Energy, Support, Exploit Weakness, and any team ability that reproduces those 
powers. 

2. Cannot be moved by Telekinesis, although it can be the target of a Telekinesis attack. 
3. Is not affected by knockback.  
4. Does not need to roll for break away, although characters adjacent to a big figure roll for break 

away per the standard rules.  
5. Is the archenemy of any figure that is a member of the Green Lantern Corps. team, and members 

of the Green Lantern Corps. team are archenemies of any big figure Sinestro. 
6. May be attacked by grounded, elevated, or soaring characters using Close or Ranged Combat 

attacks, and is adjacent to characters in adjacent squares regardless of elevation. 
7. Cannot be carried. 
8. Cannot be captured.  

 
Actions and Pushing 
A big figure Sinestro may only be given one action per turn. For example, a 200-point big figure Sinestro in 
a 200-point game could only receive one action per turn. 
 
The big figure Sinestro may be pushed, but a player can continue to push a big figure Sinestro for multiple 
turns in a row, although the big figure Sinestro will continue to receive damage from pushing. If a player 
does not give a big figure Sinestro an action for that turn, that player removes all action tokens from the big 
figure Sinestro. 
 
Moving 
A big figure Sinestro occupies 4 squares on the battle map (in a 2-square by 2-square formation). The big 
figure Sinestro moves per the standard flying rules, and cannot move through indoor blocking terrain. The 
big figure Sinestro ignores the effects of hindering terrain, elevated terrain, and outdoor blocking terrain on 
movement, although it must end its turn with its entire base either on or off of elevated terrain and blocking 
terrain.  
 
The player chooses any square adjacent to the big figure Sinestro to begin counting movement. A big figure 
Sinestro must end its movement so that its base rests on one of the squares within its movement range. If a 
big figure Sinestro moves over or stops on an object token, the object is destroyed and replaced by a rubble 
token.  
 
Big figure Sinestro must begin the game with their base completely in the starting area. 
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Attacking 
A big figure Sinestro has a maximum of 12 adjacent squares. It can attack and be attacked through any of 
them. Big figure Sinestro can make a ranged combat attack against any character in range, even if enemy 
characters are in an adjacent square. Big figure Sinestro may make ranged attacks against figures in 
adjacent squares. 
 
The big figure Sinestro’s large size means that characters do not block line of fire to or from a big figure 
Sinestro. Big figures on the same elevation block line of fire to other big figures. Blocking terrain blocks 
line of fire to a big figure Sinestro as normal. 
 
Big figure Sinestro and characters on elevated terrain may make ranged combat attacks against each other 
as if they were on the same terrain level. Soaring characters and big figure Sinestro may attack each other, 
and when targeting each other both use their full range. 
 
Multi-Attack 
Big figure Sinestro has the following multi-attack power: 
 
Multi-Attack (optional): Give the big figure Sinestro a power action. This character may take 2 free actions 
against two different targets, or two free actions against a single target. These free actions may be power 
actions, ranged combat actions, or close combat actions. Separate attack rolls are made for each attack. If 
either or both attacks are successful, the damage dealt for each is reduced by one, to a minimum of one. 
The damage dealt can be further reduced by defensive powers and abilities.  If this character controls a 
captured character, it cannot use this multi-attack option. Multi-attacks cannot be used to capture. The 
multi-attack power cannot be countered or lost.  Free actions used when using the Multi-Attack power 
cannot be used to activate another Multi-Attack. 
 
Capturing 
The big figure Sinestro’s most important power is the ability to capture opposing characters. To capture, a 
big figure Sinestro uses a power action and makes a close combat attack. Characters with Plasticity or 
Phasing add 2 to their defense value if they are the target of a capture attack. If successful, the attack deals 
no damage. Remove any action tokens from that character and place the character on the big figure 
Sinestro’s base. That character is no longer considered to be on the battle map and is out of the game unless 
rescued. Captured characters do not receive damage and cannot be given actions. 
 
If a big figure Sinestro controls a captured character, it cannot use its multi-attack option, although it can 
still use its regular attack options and powers. A big figure Sinestro can control up to two captured 
characters at once. If a big figure Sinestro controls two captured characters, it cannot make close combat 
attacks, but may still make ranged combat attacks. A big figure Sinestro cannot control more than two 
captured characters. A big figure Sinestro cannot release a captive anywhere other than the starting area. 
 
A big figure Sinestro’s player may gain additional victory points for the big figure Sinestro carrying a 
captive to the big figure Sinestro’s starting area. Once a big figure Sinestro’s entire base is inside its 
starting area, it may make a power action to release one captive character. Once released, captured 
characters are considered automatically KOd. Opposing characters KOd in this way are worth two times 
their value in victory points; captured archenemies of the big figure Sinestro are worth three times their 
value in victory points when released. 
 
If the game ends while the big figure Sinestro is carrying a figure, neither player gets victory points for that 
figure. If the big figure Sinestro captures the last opposing character, the game ends after that action. 
 
 
Rescuing Captured Characters 
If a character is captured, other members of that character’s force may attempt to rescue that character. To 
make a rescue attempt, give a character a power action and make a close or ranged combat attack against 
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the big figure Sinestro. If successful, the attack deals no damage, but the captive character is released in any 
square adjacent to the big figure Sinestro with one action token on it. This action token is added regardless 
of the number of action tokens on the character when captured. A rescued character may make an action in 
the same turn in which it was rescued, but must be pushed in order to do so. The player that rescued the 
captive decides in which square the rescued character “lands.” 
 
If a big figure Sinestro holding a captured figure is KOd, the player KOing the big figure Sinestro 
(including the player controlling the big figure Sinestro, if pushed to KO) places the captive in a square 
adjacent to the big figure Sinestro’s base and give it an action token as if rescued. If a big figure Sinestro 
successfully pushes to capture and is KOd from pushing, the captured character is still placed in an adjacent 
square and given an action token. 


